My Thoughts on the 2016 Election

I am not a racist. I do not care about the color of your skin: black, white, purple, green, red, yellow, orange, brown, whatever. We are all human.

Have you ever heard someone say “I don’t like him because he has hazel eyes,” or “I don’t like her because her hair is blond” ??? Yeah, that’s pretty stupid. So is hating someone because of the color of his skin.

I am not a homophobe. I do not care who you love or who you want to take to your bed, as long as everyone involved is a consenting adult. I do not care who you want to marry. Again, as long as consenting adults are involved, go for it. Be happy. Or be miserable. It’s your choice.

I am not a sexist. I do not care whether you are a man or a woman. What is between your legs does not say whether or not you are intelligent, loving, capable, whatever.

I am not a trans-phobe. I don’t care what you think you are. As long as you respect me, I’ll respect you.

I am not a bigot. I respect our differences. We do not have to agree to be friends. I’ll still love you even if I don’t agree with you.

I do not care what religion you are or what you believe about a higher power. If you respect my right to display a cross or to bless myself, I will respect your right to bow to Mecca or sing to Yahweh or honor nature or pray to the Moon. I really do not care.

Do I support the KKK or the Aryan Nation? No way. Do I think they should be made illegal? No. Now wait a minute and hear me out. This is America. If someone wants to be an ugly, hate-filled bigot, that is his right. We are free to assholes.

Do I like sagging pants? Would I wear a hijab? Do I wear the latest tramp or hooker fashion? No. But I will not restrict your right to wear whatever you want.

Do I agree with abortion? No. In my opinion, a woman’s choice ends when she gets pregnant. Do I think it should be illegal? No. For whatever reason she might have, she has the right to end the pregnancy. Would I do it? No. But I’m not going to force my beliefs on someone else.

Did I vote for Trump? Yes. Why? Well certainly not because I’m a racist, a sexist, a homophone, a trans-phobe, a bigot, or a member of the KKK. I voted for him because I thought given the choices, he was the best one. I am not a fan of his, but he was the only one on the ballot I felt I could somewhat support.

I did not vote for Hillary. It had nothing to do with her gender. It had everything to do with the fact that in my opinion she is a criminal, mishandled classified emails, and had policies I cannot support.

If your little girls are heartbroken and think the only reason Hillary lost is because she is a woman, then that’s a parenting issue, not a social issue. She didn’t lose because she is a woman. She lost because half of the American people did not trust her or want her as president.

Don’t like Trump? Be as vocal about it as you want. I won’t call you any names because of it, and you won’t lose my respect unless you call for his assassination or say only idiots would have voted for him. I was very vocal about Obama.

As Americans, we are free to speak out against our government without fear of recrimination. Go for it. Be vocal. It’s your right.

But I’ve been called a racist because I did not like Obama. I’ve been told I am a misogynist because I did not vote for Hillary. I have also seen posts that only deplorable, uneducated, racists would ever vote for Trump. I am none of those things. I will not call you any names because of your choice for president.

We had three choices for president in my household. If we can live together under one roof without killing one another, then this country can live together under a Trump presidency.

I did my own research when it came to choosing my choice for president. I do not follow any of the “news” sources because they report what they want us to know. They put the spin they want on the events of the day. They choose the explanation that fits with their agenda.

Do I believe everything I’ve read about Killary? About Trump? About Obama? No. If I see something negative, yes, I am more likely to believe it if it is about Hillary or Obama, because I just don’t like them. But I will still do my own research.

Trump was elected. I do not believe for one second that he will send the buses for Muslims, Hispanics, women, people of color, etc.

Trump is not going to be able to take away a woman’s right to choose. He is not going to be able to stop gay marriage. The Supreme Court already ruled on that. A conservative court, by the way. I also believe Trump will appoint more moderate justices, so we should have a more balanced Supreme Court, the way it should be.

A large LGBTQ-XYZ (whatever alphabet letters you want to include everyone) community supported him. I do not believe for one second that anyone in this community should have any fear as a result of his win.

The women who have worked for him for years supported him. I do not think that any woman should fear what his presidency means for women.

To me both of those say a heck of a lot more than the media spin on certain “events.” I care more about what the people closest to him say than what might or might not have happened many years ago.

We need to stop these protests, both the burning traffic stopping violent kind as well as the petitions online. They only make you look like a toddler throwing a temper tantrum because you didn’t get your way.

The fear mongering by the media has to stop.

As for those little boys who have been reported grabbing little girls and blaming it on Trump, again, that’s a parenting issue and a media issue. That is never okay. Billy Clinton did his share of inappropriate grabbing. Biden got creepy and handsy with me. This is more of a systemic issue with men taking advantage of women, not as a result of one stupid comment made many years ago by a man who has admitted it was wrong.

We have to unite.

United we stand; Divided we fall.

Author: tigress5cubs

I have been a single mother to 5 wonderful children since 2000. Michael is 28, Kellina is 22, Ryan is 22 (yes, twins, no, not identical), & Sean is 20. Derek would have been 27 this past year. On July 23, 2011 our world was changed forever. While on patrol in Afghanistan, Derek attempted to rescue another soldier and stepped on an ied resulting in several injuries, including amputations of the legs. He battled his life changing injuries for 20 months before climbing to eternal glory on March 18, 2013. We survived a lot, and we are still climbing that mountain. Come climb with us!

Leave a Reply

