Questions for the Melanin Blessed About “Black History Month” v. “African American History Month”

I have some questions for all of my melanin blessed friends.
I want to open a conversation NOT start a fight. I am truly curious and would like to unite and connect over real conversation.
I’m asking these questions because I am one of the melanin impaired (so much so that I could blend with the beach), so I am not going to begin to think that I understand what it means to be melanin rich. But I want to understand more than I do about something that happened today.
I remember a lot of political correctness a few years back where we were no longer to refer to people as “black,” but instead to say “African American.” I remember having a conversation with a client at the time and him telling me that he is black, from Trinidad, so the term “African American” would not refer to him, and he preferred “black.”
So now my questions are these:
Which do you prefer?
Does it matter to you?
Do you get insulted when someone says one rather than the other? Why?
Is the fact that Donald Trump met with some alleged leaders of the community and now purports to change this month to “African American History Month” rather than “Black History Month” a big deal? Does that bother you that he did that? Why or why not?
I really am curious and I am trying to understand why everyone is making a big deal out of this.
Author: tigress5cubs

I have been a single mother to 5 wonderful children since 2000. Michael is 28, Kellina is 22, Ryan is 22 (yes, twins, no, not identical), & Sean is 20. Derek would have been 27 this past year. On July 23, 2011 our world was changed forever. While on patrol in Afghanistan, Derek attempted to rescue another soldier and stepped on an ied resulting in several injuries, including amputations of the legs. He battled his life changing injuries for 20 months before climbing to eternal glory on March 18, 2013. We survived a lot, and we are still climbing that mountain. Come climb with us!

Leave a Reply

