All the Hoopla Over Ariana Grande

 

I have seen a lot of memes and nastiness going on around Ariana Grande since Monday night’s attack in Manchester, England, and I have to put in my two cents for what it’s worth.

As to Ariana herself, I am not a fan. I don’t like her music. Some of it is catchy and fun to dance to, but I think when she sings, she sounds like she is screaming. And I cannot get past the time at the start of the Army Ten Miler when they were playing the National Anthem and everyone was at attention, but the DJ at the finish line was blasting, singing, and dancing to “Bang Bang.” Now every time I hear that song, I’m transported back to that time. Not Ariana’s fault, but anyway.

But, because I am not a fan, I am not coming from a place where I want to automatically defend her.

Come on, people. You don’t have to be a fan to know that some of this crap going around since the tragedy in Manchester is just plain wrong.

On Monday, May 22, 2017, a suicide bomber killed 22 and injured many more as fans, mostly children, were streaming out of an Ariana Grande concert. Ariana then cancelled 35 shows on her planned international tour, and she headed home.

After such a tragedy, we should be banning together and trying to find out how to prevent this in the future. This isn’t the time or place for me to espouse on the benefits or evils of immigration, refugees, etc., so I will move on.

I’ve seen two memes this week, and both times it made me sick to my stomach.

This one is the first one that I saw:

Screen Shot 2017-05-24 at 11.13.18 AM

First of all, Ariana Grande is 23 years old. She’s still very young and has been thrown into a mature adult world when I don’t think she was ready.

Did she say she hates America and Americans? Yes, she did. I was pretty ticked when she did it, but she was 21 years old and stupid. Don’t we all know a bunch of 21 year olds? They are obtuse. They have no filters and say the stupidest things. Are we going to hold everything a stupid kid says against him/her for the rest of his/her life?  Or are we going to allow him/she to learn from his/her stupidity and move on?

She actually meant her statement as a side comment on American obesity while she was looking at fattening, but delicious donuts.

She came out with the following statement:

“I am EXTREMELY proud to be an American and I’ve always made it clear that I love my country. What I said in a private moment with my friend, who was buying the donuts, was taken out of context and I am sorry for not using more discretion with my choice of words. As an advocate for healthy eating, food is very important to me and I sometimes get upset by how freely we as Americans eat and consume things without giving any thought to the consequences that it has on our health and society as a whole. The fact that the United States has the highest child obesity rate in the world frustrates me. We need to do more to educate ourselves and our children about the dangers of overeating and the poison that we put into our bodies. We need to demand more from our food industry. However I should have known better in how I expressed myself; and with my new responsibility to others as a public figure I will strive to be better. As for why I cannot be at the MLB show, I have had emergency oral surgery and due to recovery I cannot attend the show. I hope to make it up to all those fans soon. That being said let me once again apologize if I have offended anyone with my poor choice of words. 

– Ariana Grande”

Do I forgive her? Nothing to forgive. She said something stupid and she apologized. Move along. Nothing more to see here.

It is wrong and despicable to throw it back in her face when she is mourning the loss of 22 of her fans, and when she is trying to cope with the knowledge that children were killed at her concert. As a Mom, I want to wrap my arms around the very young lady and tell her that everything will be all right.

But then this one started going around:

18620259_10154429175926671_8596432751918250462_n

 

This is disgraceful, and to whomever made it, I hope Karma bites you in the ass and soon.

This is NOT Ariana Grande. This is the real image:

Screen Shot 2017-05-24 at 11.25.36 AM

But since it is on the internet, it must be true, right?

Please, people. Stop affixing blame and pointing the fingers at a young woman whose only crime is being a stupid kid and saying thoughtless things two years ago.

If she was going around espousing the evils of America and saying she hates us all the time, then I’d be right there with you and telling you to go for it. But it was once. And it was two years ago.

She also does not deserve all of this or to be told, “well, that’s what you get” because she is a Trump hater and wants open borders. No one deserves to deal with this. Maybe this event will change her political views, but probably not. Some of her political views are a reflection on the influence of the Hollywood elite, and some are just her being too young to know any better, but she will grow up, eventually.

Concentrate on the real evil here. We are in a jihad. We have a group of people who have sworn to wipe us off the planet. If you are Jewish, Christian, American, English, French, or anything other than Muslim, they want you dead. I am not saying that it is all Muslims. There are extremists in every religion, race, group, ethnicity, etc.

But these extremists are Muslim, and they are not afraid to kill themselves as long as they take a few of us with them.

We cannot coexist with people who want us dead. If I thought that giving them a big hug, inviting them to dinner to allow them to explain why they hate us, or doing any other liberal bull shit would stop this carnage, then I’d support it. But it won’t happen. They hate us. They want us dead.

Bottom line to this rant – stop blaming Ariana Grande for what these animals have done to us. You are taking the spotlight and attention off the real issues!

Be vigilant. Be careful. Keep your eyes open. If you see something, say something.

And for God’s sake, please stop affixing blame and attacking a young woman who said something stupid two years ago. She is not a factor in this.

Author: tigress5cubs

I have been a single mother to 5 wonderful children since 2000. Michael is 28, Kellina is 22, Ryan is 22 (yes, twins, no, not identical), & Sean is 20. Derek would have been 27 this past year. On July 23, 2011 our world was changed forever. While on patrol in Afghanistan, Derek attempted to rescue another soldier and stepped on an ied resulting in several injuries, including amputations of the legs. He battled his life changing injuries for 20 months before climbing to eternal glory on March 18, 2013. We survived a lot, and we are still climbing that mountain. Come climb with us!

Leave a Reply

